The Way Sounds Attack

In order to be strategic we have to know the game. We start to move and the music begins to play. When the wave hits you, each of you in your own account, it bounces back and at this very moment produces a new sound. We engage in a collective activity with personal intentions. No one in this room is responsible for anyone else, yet we can’t do it alone.

A new version of The Way Sounds Attack will premiere at the festival Another Fine Selection at MDT in Stockholm, the 3-4th December 2014. This time performed by Luís Miguel Félix, Nadja Hjorton, Sidney Leoni, Maryam Nikandish, Stina Nyberg, Zoë Poluch and Rebecka Stillman. Rehearsals starts the 13th October.

The Way Sounds Attack is a choreography that focuses on the body’s relationship to sound and how illusions of different causalities are created through actions and reactions.

The piece is created through a daily “techno dance practice”. The rehearsals consist exclusively of performing the entirety of the piece, which is to dance the albumArchive One by Dave Clarke from beginning to end. Bound by the most banal relationship to music and by an attempt to avoid all interpretation, elaboration or creativity as such, the performers anticipate the music in order to do the sounds. The practice is strictly formulated through tasks relating to this doing, and in rehearsal no discussions are held concerning individual interpretation or performance.

Through avoiding being innovative it wants to steer away from improvisation that promotes individual choices and self-expression. The performance rather aims for working with emotions and reactions that occurs at the instance the sound hits you, in order to express the illusion of bodies creating sound. The techno suggests a dance where no one depends on anyone else to do it but that insists on doing it together. The piece is carried by the imagination and conviction of both performers and audience.

The Way Sounds Attack is at the same time the result of the techno practice and the practice performed as such.

Premiere: December 2011, DOCH Stockholm
Choreography: Stina Nyberg
Performance: Kim Hiorthöy, Nadja Hjorton, Stina Nyberg, Zoë Poluch, Juli Reinartz, Rebecka Stillmann and Uri Turkenich
Light design: Chrisander Brun
Music: Dave Clarke “Archive One”
Production: DOCH MA in Choreography
Also performed during The Coming Boogie-Woogie at MDT, Stockholm, 17 December 2011
Photo: Jens Strandberg