The Bureau for the Future of Choreography

The Bureau for the Future of Choreography is an apparatus, striving for collective authorship, that produces choreographies and documents. Based in New York City and with a fluctuating amount of participating artists, it engages in and arranges choreographic activities.

On the 15-17th January BFC presents Score for a Lecture at the American Realness festival at Abrons Arts Center in New York. In Score for a Lecture, a sequence of speech acts choreograph the theater as a medium and institution that literally speaks. Instant collaboration reinvigorates institutional critique as a choreographed blooper. Score for a Lecture creates space to redefine the value of failure while we are inside the theater, the institution, the group, the pair and the self. In Score for a Lecture, as with all projects by The Bureau for the Future of Choreography, everyone becomes an agent of The Bureau.

Some of the Bureau’s earlier activities include: Desire Dances (2011), which occurred in public spaces and explored contexts that regulate bodies; a call to map the past fifty years in contemporary dance/choreography through The Flowchart Project (2012-2013), which re-sorts hierarchies of knowledge through cooperative engagement, enthusiastic attention, and paperwork and a residency at the New Museum as part of Rethinking the Imprint of Judson Dance Theater Fifty Years Later: Movement Research in Residence (2012). In 2014 The Bureau is artist in residence at Lower Manhattan Cultural Councils arts center at Governors Island, where they are arranging a Dance Marathon.

The Bureau is intended to be an open platform for participation and engagement around questions in dance that expands and contracts on a project-to-project basis. If you are interested in participating in the Bureau’s activities, please email: dearBFC(at)

The Bureau for the Future of Choreography has a fluctuating set of participating artists, among others: Alan Calpe, Maggie Cloud, Evelyn Donnelly, Tess Dworman, Moriah Evans, Kyli Kleven, Stephen May, Rashaun Mitchell, Stina Nyberg, Sarah Beth Percival, Suzan Polat, Will Rawls, Silas Riener, Ondrej Vidlar and more
BFC's Dance Marathon May 25th 2014. Photo: Adam Macchia